CAPSULE PROGRAM

barre bleu

INITIATOR & DIRECTOR OF UNDER THE POLE

GHISLAIN BARDOUT

Gaining a better understanding of the oceans is one of the major challenges of the 21st century, as it is only with a better understanding of their equilibrium that we will be able to face modern ecological and societal challenges. Between the 1950s and the 1990s, underwater and space exploration flourished, leading to the most ambitious projects : diving deep into the ocean and walking on the moon. I belong to a generation that has been nourished by the dreams of that time.

Today, while the man prepares to go on Mars, the evolution of the diving techniques and the equipment used make it possible to imagine adventures that even Jacques Picard and Jacques-Yves Cousteau could not experiment. And when I see what you can discover during a dive, I cannot help but imagine what it would be like if you could stay in the depths for a long time. Since 2006, marked by my beginnings in the field of exploration and adventure alongside Jean-Louis Étienne, I devote myself fully to the exploration of oceans diving. I successfully led two Under The Pole expeditions, each of which was a pioneer.

 

Large companies like Rolex, Clarins-Azzaro and Air Liquide already accompany us, our dedication to quality and our reliability are recognized by the French Ministry of Education, Higher Education and Research.

This recognition and support has allowed us to start a new revolutionary project : Under The Pole III – 2017•2020. If the challenge of yesterday was to dive deep in the oceans, today, the challenge of human underwater exploration lies elsewhere : it lies in its ability to stay
immersed for a long time, with the aim of discovering and understanding the oceans and the life that unfolds there. Faithful to our quest for and our pioneering spirit, this vision guides Under The Pole.

After two polar expeditions, the 3rd is world-wide : it is dedicated to the creation and testing of a light saturation diving system that is easy to operate at all latitudes, an underwater “capsule“ intended to produce continuous immersions lasting up to several days.

Thus, in his quest for knowledge, man will be able to immerse himself not only deep, but now for a long time. A new stage that will take us starting in 2020 to the ultimate submarine exploration vessel : a submarine worthy of the dreams of Jules Verne.

 

barre bleu

A SCIENTIFIC INNOVATION

THE CAPSULE PROGRAM

The Capsule is a basic and light underwater habitat, relatively autonomous and not very bulky, destined to host teams of divers for missions dedicated to the knowledge of the submarine environment during multiple days.

 

 

THE POLAR SCHOONER “WHY”
It is the logistic and scientific base of the expedition. It is capable of operating in any sea of the world and can deploy the submarine capsule in complete autonomy.

THE SIGNALLING BUOY
Equipped with a telecommunication antenna.

SUBMARINE ROBOTS
They assist the divers in the recognition of the environment.

A LIGHT SUBMARINE HABITAT
Easy to set up between each immersion, the divers will rest and feed there without leaving the habitat. Much more than a shelter, this immerged observation post ensures that nothing is missed under the oceans.

360° CAMERAS
They allow the surface team to follow the live-feed of the dives in progress.

EQUIPPED DIVERS
The equipment : rebreathers and propellers able to intervene up to 120 m.

THE POLAR SCHOONER “WHY”
It is the logistic and scientific base of the expedition. It is capable of operating in any sea of the world and can deploy the submarine capsule in complete autonomy.

THE SIGNALLING BUOY
Equipped with a telecommunication antenna.

SUBMARINE ROBOTS
They assist the divers in the recognition of the environment.

A LIGHT SUBMARINE HABITAT
Easy to set up between each immersion, the divers will rest and feed there without leaving the habitat. Much more than a shelter, this immerged observation post ensures that nothing is missed under the oceans.

360° CAMERAS
They allow the surface team to follow the live-feed of the dives in progress.

EQUIPPED DIVERS
The equipment : rebreathers and propellers able to intervene up to 120 m.

 

rs_insta

ALL PHOTOS

On Instagram

rs_vimeo

ALL FILMS

On Vimeo

rs_facebook

ALL NEWS

On Facebook

barrejaune

STAY CONNECTED!

Under The Pole III • 2017 2020

Presentation
Live
Blog
All our partners

Hungry for adventure?

Explorer: Come on board

Main partners

azzaro_logo

 

Would you like to talk about us?

Press Area

Are you a company?

Partners & Sponsors Section
Become a partner
Book a talk

Interested in supporting us?

Shop

Do you have a question?

Contact

About this website

Legal notice

LE PROGRAMME CAPSULE

barre bleu

INITIATEUR & DIRECTEUR D’UNDER THE POLE

GHISLAIN BARDOUT

Mieux comprendre les océans est l’un des grands enjeux du 21e siècle, car seule une meilleure connaissance de leur équilibre permettra de faire face aux défis écologiques et sociétaux modernes. Entre les années 1950 et 1990, l’exploration sous‑marine et spatiale a connu un essor qui a donné lieu aux projets les plus ambitieux : plonger au plus profond des océans et marcher sur la Lune. J’appartiens à une génération qui a été nourrie des rêves de cette époque.

Aujourd’hui, tandis que l’Homme se prépare à aller sur Mars, l’évolution des techniques de plongée et du matériel utilisé permet d’imaginer des aventures que même Jacques Picard et Jacques-Yves Cousteau n’ont pu expérimenter. Et quand je vois ce que l’on peut découvrir le temps d’une plongée, je ne peux m’empêcher d’imaginer ce qu’il en serait si l’on pouvait séjourner durablement dans les profondeurs. Depuis 2006, marqué par mes débuts dans le milieu de l’exploration et de l’aventure aux côtés de Jean-Louis Étienne, je me consacre pleinement à l’exploration des océans en plongée. J’ai ainsi mené avec succès deux expéditions Under The Pole qui ont chacune été pionnières.

De grandes entreprises comme Rolex, Clarins • Azzaro et la Fondation Air Liquide nous accompagnent déjà. La qualité et le sérieux de notre travail sont reconnus par le ministère français de l’Éducation, de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche. Une reconnaissance et des soutiens qui ont permis de démarrer un nouveau projet révolutionnaire : Under The Pole III • 2017-2020.

Si le défi d’hier était de plonger profond dans les océans, aujourd’hui, l’enjeu de l’exploration sous‑marine humaine est ailleurs : il réside dans sa capacité à rester longtemps en immersion, dans un but de découverte et de compréhension des océans et de la vie qui s’y déploie. Fidèle à sa quête d’innovation et à son esprit pionnier, c’est cette vision qui guide Under The Pole.

Après deux expéditions polaires, la 3e est mondiale : elle est notamment consacrée à la création et l’épreuve d’un système de plongée à saturation léger et facile à opérer sous toutes les latitudes, une “capsule”  sous-marine destinée à réaliser des immersions continues pouvant atteindre plusieurs jours.

Ainsi, dans sa quête de connaissance, l’homme sera en mesure de s’immerger non seulement profond, mais désormais longtemps. Une nouvelle étape qui nous conduira à partir de 2020 vers l’ultime vaisseau d’exploration sous-marine : un sous-marin digne des rêves de Jules Verne.

barre bleu

UNE INNOVATION SCIENTIFIQUE

LE PROGRAMME CAPSULE

La Capsule est une habitat sous-marin simple et léger, relativement autonome et peu encombrant, destiné à accueillir des équipes de plongeurs pour des missions dédiées à la connaissance du milieu sous-marin pendant plusieurs jours.

 

LA GOÉLETTE POLAIRE « WHY »
C’est la base logistique et scientifique de l’expédition. Elle est capable d’opérer dans toutes les mers du monde et d’y déployer la capsule sous-marine en toute autonomie.

BOUÉE DE SIGNALISATION
Munie d’une antenne de télécommunication.

DES ROBOTS SOUS-MARIN
Ils assistent les plongeurs dans la reconnaissance du milieu.

UN HABITAT SOUS-MARIN LÉGER
Facile à mettre en place entre chaque immersion, les plongeurs s’y reposent et se nourrissent sans quitter le milieu. Bien plus qu’un abri, ce poste d’observation immergé permet de ne rien rater de ce qui se passe sous les océans.

DES CAMÉRAS À 360°
Elles permettent à l’équipe de surface de suivre en direct les plongées en cours.

DES PLONGEURS ÉQUIPÉS
Le matériel : des recycleurs et des propulseurs capables d’intervenir jusqu’à 120 mètres.

LA GOÉLETTE POLAIRE « WHY »
C’est la base logistique et scientifique de l’expédition. Elle est capable d’opérer dans toutes les mers du monde et d’y déployer la capsule sous-marine en toute autonomie.

BOUÉE DE SIGNALISATION
Munie d’une antenne de télécommunication.

DES ROBOTS SOUS-MARIN
Ils assistent les plongeurs dans la reconnaissance du milieu.

UN HABITAT SOUS-MARIN LÉGER
Facile à mettre en place entre chaque immersion, les plongeurs s’y reposent et se nourrissent sans quitter le milieu. Bien plus qu’un abri, ce poste d’observation immergé permet de ne rien rater de ce qui se passe sous les océans.

DES CAMÉRAS À 360°
Elles permettent à l’équipe de surface de suivre en direct les plongées en cours.

DES PLONGEURS ÉQUIPÉS
Le matériel : des recycleurs et des propulseurs capables d’intervenir jusqu’à 120 mètres.

Under The Pole III • 2017-2020

Présentation
La Science
La pédagogie
Le direct
Le blog
Nos partenaires

Envie de monter à bord ?

Explorer : embarquez avec nous

Partenaires principaux

azzaro_logo


Vous voulez parler de nous ?

Espace presse

Vous êtes une entreprise ?

Espace partenaire
Devenir partenaire

Organiser une conférence

Envie de nous soutenir ?

Le Shop

Une question ?

Contact

À propos de ce site

Mentions légales