Decembre 2018 : a well deserved break

emmanuelle_bardout_under_thePole_III_polynsesie
© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

 

The WHY is moored in the Atuona Bay on the island of Hiva Oa in the Marquesas archipelago, where Paul Gaugin and Jacques Brel lived their last days, inpired by the raw beauty of the place and the authenticity of its people. On these islands, the polynesian culture is strong and time seems to have stopped.

 

under_the_pole_polynesie_2018

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

 

The team took a break for the festive season after five months of intensive diving.

Christmas was celebrated in the small Tahuata Bay, playing in the waves and grabbing some palm tree leaves to make a Christmas tree in the WHY. Robin and Tom made a great effort in decorating it, stoked and mesmerized by Christmas magical vibes. From what we’ve heard, Santa may have flown over the Marquesas islands, or maybe dolphins pulled his sled – it’s not completely clear – and came into the WHY through a window in order to leave the presents.

tom under the pole polynesie

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

 

Everyone helped to cook a delicious Christmas meal, making great use of all the delicious fruits that can be found around here.

 

Ghislain et emmanuelle bardout polynesie under the pole III

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

January 20th : resumption of scientific diving

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole 2019

 

On 20th January, the scientific dives resumed and our two scientists Héloïse Rouzé and Gonzalo Pérez-Rosales came back onboard.

Here, the ocean is hostile and is extremely different to the welcoming lagoons that we have seen in the last months spent in the atolls of the Tuamotu. We are far from the crystal clear waters and the thousand shades of blue! What we find here are green waters, rich with plankton, with a spectacular amount of life even though it’s much harder to see.

 

under_the_pole_marquises

© Ghislain Bardout / Under The Pole

 

When we go diving in the howling winds, we rename certain capes ‘’Bering’’, after the Bering Strait that we crossed in Autumn 2017! The katabatic winds rush down the mountains, making immersions and resurfacing very challenging. Beneath the surface, we are facing a new set of challenges, especially to find sufficient depth. Until now, we only have been able to work on the program down -60m, whilst we would usually work at -60m/-90m/-120m.

No great cliff drops here, so we need to adapt. Corals are a lot more scattered here, certainly due to the lack of light and the more troubled waters. The scientists are satisfied nonetheless as the Marquesas archipelago is still widely unexplored so any sample brought back to the surface is a win.

under-the-pole-raie-marquises-compressor

© Aldo Ferrucci / Under The Pole 2019

 

The waters are rich in plankton, which mean that they are also rich with fish. We regularly make encounters with amazing mata rays, marbled sting rays (endemic to the Marquesas), tunas or sharks. The main difference is we usually see them at the last second! Often, dolphins escort us as we move around

Aldo Ferrucci, deep rebreather diving specialist also joined us to help with the sampling, to take some stills as well as continue the training of the team. It is such a great pleasure to have him back and it is also an opportunity to prepare the Capsule program for which he will be Diving Director.

EMMANUELLE_BARDOUT_UNDER_THE_POLE_4

© Maxime Horlaville – Under The Pole 2019

Early March, we will be heading towards the Tuamotu and then the Gambier, providing that no cyclone will be on our way of course, in order to continue the program. Over there, we will be joined by Laëtitia Hédouin the coordinator of the DeepHope project and by Michel Pichon, researcher and worldwide specialist of coral reefs. The motion team will also be back for a few days in the Gambier to wrap up the Arte documentary on the discovery of deep corals.

But for now, we’re setting sails for the wild island of Fatu Iva, the third island for us in the Marquesas. Tomorrow night, the WHY will be moored in the famous ‘’Bay of the Virgins’’, a magical destination for the round-the-world sailors.

Emmanuelle Périé Bardout

 

carte_under_the_pole_marquises_800

© Maxime Horlaville – Under The Pole 2019

Décembre 2018 : une pause bien méritée

emmanuelle_bardout_under_thePole_III_polynsesie

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

Le WHY est mouillé dans la baie d’Atuona sur l’île d’Hiva Oa aux Marquises, là où Paul Gauguin et Jacques Brel terminèrent leurs vies, inspirés par ces paysages d’une sauvage beauté et par l’authenticité des Marquisiens. La culture polynésienne est restée omniprésente sur ces îles où le temps ne semble pas avoir d’emprise.

under_the_pole_polynesie_2018

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

 

Toute l’équipe a fait une pause pour les fêtes, bien méritée après ces cinq mois de plongées intensives. Noël a été fêté dans une petite baie de Tahuata, à jouer dans les vagues et à ramasser des palmes pour faire un cocotier de Noel dans le WHY. Il fut dignement décoré par Robin et Tom, aux anges et gagné par la féerie de Noël. Il paraît que le père Noël est passé dans le ciel marquisien ou peut-être tiré par des dauphins – on est pas bien surs – et s’est introduit par un hublot du WHY pour déposer ses paquets

tom under the pole polynesie

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

Tout le monde s’y est mit pour cuisiner les délicieux repas de fêtes, agrémentés pour notre plus grands bonheur par les nombreux fruits que nous trouvons à foison ici. 

Ghislain et emmanuelle bardout polynesie under the pole III

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

20 Janvier 2019 : reprise des plongées scientifiques

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole 2019

Le 20 janvier, les plongées scientifiques ont reprit avec le retour de nos deux scientifiques embarqués, Héloïse Rouzé et Gonzalo Pérez-Rosales.

L’océan est hostile et tranche avec la douceur des lagons que nous avons côtoyé les derniers mois dans les atolls des Tuamotu. Elles sont loin les eaux claires aux milles nuances de bleus! Ici, c’est une eau verte chargée de plancton qui abrite une vie spectaculaire mais moins visible.

under_the_pole_marquises

© Ghislain Bardout / Under The Pole


En partant plonger nous surnommons certaines pointes « Béring » tant le vent qui y souffle nous rappelle le fameux détroit que nous avons passé à l’automne 2017 ! Les vents catabatiques descendent furieusement des montagnes et rendent les mises à l’eau et les sorties de l’eau rock and roll. Sous la surface, nous sommes confrontés à de nouvelles difficultés, en particulier pour trouver la profondeur. Pour l’instant nous n’avons pas pu déployer le programme au delà de 60 mètres alors que nos profondeurs de plongée habituelles sont 60m/90m/120m.

Mais ici, pas de grands tombants alors on s’adapte. Les coraux sont plus rares, certainement du au manque de lumière et aux eaux plus agitées. Les scientifiques sont néanmoins heureux car l’archipel des Marquises est principalement inexploré et tous les prélèvements sont notables à leurs yeux.

under-the-pole-raie-marquises-compressor

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole 2019


Si les eaux sont chargées, elles sont aussi source de nourriture et très poissonneuse. Nous croisons de magnifiques raies mantas, raies marbrées (endémiques des Marquises), thons, et requins. La différence est que nous les voyons souvent au dernier moment! Les dauphins nous escortent dans nos déplacements. 

Aldo Ferrucci, spécialiste de la plongée profonde en recycleur, nous a rejoins à nouveau pour nous aider dans nos collectes, la prise d’images et continuer le training de certains membres de l’équipe. C’est un plaisir de le retrouver et l’occasion de se réunir pour préparer le programme Capsule dont il sera le directeur de plongée.

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole 2019

Début mars, s’il n’y a pas d’alertes cycloniques, nous rejoindrons les Tuamotus puis les Gambiers où le programme se poursuivra et sera marqué du retour à bord de Laetitia Hédouin, coordinatrice du programme « DeepHope » et Michel Pichon, éminent chercheur et spécialiste mondial des récifs coralliens. L’équipe de tournage viendra quelques jours dans l’archipel des Gambiers pour clôturer le documentaire Arte consacré à cette aventure sur la découverte des coraux profonds. 

Mais pour l’instant, nous mettons les voiles pour l’île sauvage de Fatu Iva qui sera notre troisième île étudiée aux Marquises. Demain soir, le WHY sera mouillé dans la célèbre et spectaculaire « Baie des Vierges », étape enchantée des voiliers tourdumondistes. 

Emmanuelle Perié-Bardout

 

carte_janvier_under_the_pole_2019