Can you introduce yourself in a few words ?

My name is Michel Pichon. I am an Agronomist Engineer (Paris), a Doctor in Oceanography, Doctor in Science (Marseille), graduated in Oceanography from the ORSTOM, Officer of the Order of the Academic Palms. I started my career as a oceanographic research in the South-West of the Indian Ocean, and I decided to specialise in the study of coral reefs. I have spent most of my career in Australia, first a marine biology Professor at James Cook University (Cairns) and then as Deputy Director of the Australian Institute of Marine Science (Townsville), before ending my career as the Director of Studies at the ‘’Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes’’ (Laboratory of Perpignan, France). I’ve led several research teams and many expeditions in specific corals reefs in the Indo-Pacific region, and have collaborated with teams from the US, France, Japan and Australia. During the last years, I specialised in the study of mesophotic corals and deep symbiotic corals.

Michel Pichon © Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

What is your role on-board the WHY and what does it entail?

My role is essentially a coordination and supervision of all scientific operations, in relation with the diving activities. I ensure that all activities associated with the scientific research run smoothly. Specifically, I take care of the preliminary identification of the samples of mesophotic corals brought back by the technical divers (or confirming the identification of samples of the target-species) as well as treating the samples and maintaining the associated data-base. Generally, there are 2 of us scientistes on-board.

What are you looking for in the samples that are brought back to the surface?

Before being brought back to the surface, the corals are systematically photographed with photo-quadrats at some pre-defined standard depths, which give us an idea of their repartition and density. On-board, the first step is to do an inventory of the species living deeper on the external slope of the reef. The collected samples are prepared for future further identification. Moreover, some samples are also collected and prepared in a different manner in order to study their population of zooxanthellae algae, associated micro-fauna and micro-flora, their reproductive capacities and for genetic studies (samples taken for DNA analysis).

Michel Pichon © Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

What do you wish to demonstrate with the samples taken in all 5 French Polynesian archipelago?

Generally speaking, the samples will help us devine the composition of the mesophotic corals in those different areas, to compare them and explain the differences by other factors like biogeographic ones, or the variation of other environmental factors like the physical characteristics of the environment. Furthermore, the analysis done on the samples will allow us to explain how the mesophotic corals have been able to adapt to very specific environmental conditions (low light, lower temperatures, etc.) and to evaluate the potential for the mesophotic zone to become a shelter and a nursery for the species living in the shoal areas, which are already under a strong amount of stress due to global warming and human activities.

Michel Pichon © Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

To wrap this up, can you tell us about one of your most memorable moments on-board during those last months?

First off, as a Scientist, seeing the photos in situ of the deep corals populations have been some of the highlights for me, especially looking at the incredible coverage of Leptoseris solida past the 100m mark on the island of Makatea.

But beyond that, the human adventure is second to none: being on a ‘’family’’ boat (hello Robin and Tom!) fitted out for technical diving and audio/visual work, often cramped, with no actual space nor dedicated equipment for science have been a unique (and successful) experience. It’s like being with your family on-board, with a great sense of fraternity. It is the first time, and maybe that last time, that I see a team with such availability, such a common passion for the project and people working with such professional standards, especially in regards to safety.

Michel Pichon © Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Peux-tu te présenter en quelques mots ?

Je m’appelle Michel Pichon, Ingénieur Agronome, (Paris), Docteur en Océanographie, Docteur des Sciences (Marseille), Diplômé en Océanographie de l’ORSTOM, Officier dans l’ordre des Palmes Académiques, j’ai commencé ma carrière de chercheur Océanographe dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Océan Indien, et me suis spécialisé dans l’étude des récifs coralliens , et plus particulièrement des coraux récifaux. J’ai passé la plus grande partie de ma carrière en Australie, d’abord comme Professeur de Biologie marine a James Cook Université, puis comme Directeur Adjoint de l’Institut Australien des Sciences de la Mer, (Townsville), avant de la terminer comme Directeur d’Etudes à l’Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes (Laboratoire de Perpignan). J’ai dirigé plusieurs équipes de recherche et de nombreuses expéditions dans les zones récifales-clés de l’Indo-Pacifique, et ai effectué des recherches en coopération avec des équipes françaises, américaines australiennes et japonaises. Au cours des dernières années, je me suis spécialisé dans l’étude des milieux récifaux mésophotiques et des coraux symbiotiques de profondeur.

Michel Pichon © Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Quel est ton rôle à bord du WHY et en quoi consiste-t-il ?

Mon rôle est essentiellement un rôle de coordination et de supervision des opérations scientifiques, en coopération avec les activités de plongée. Je m’assure du bon déroulement et fonctionnement de tous les aspects des activités de recherche. Spécifiquement, j’assure l’identification préliminaire des échantillons de coraux mésophotiques récoltés par les équipes de plongeurs techniques (ou la confirmation des identifications d’échantillons d’espèces-cibles) ainsi que le traitement de ces échantillons et le maintien de la base de données correspondante. Nous sommes en général 2 scientifiques embarqués.

Qu’étudiez-vous sur les coraux remontés en surface ?

Avant d’être remontés, les coraux sont systématiquement photographiés dans des quadrats à des profondeurs standard, ce qui fournit des données quantitatives sur la présence et l’abondance. À bord, la première étape consiste en l’élaboration d’un inventaire des espèces vivant profondément sur les pentes récifales. Les échantillons récoltés sont donc traités en vue de leur identification. Par ailleurs, divers prélèvements sont aussi effectués et traités de façon différente pour permettre l’étude de leurs populations de zooxanthelles (algues unicellulaires symbiotiques), microfaune et microflore associées, capacité de reproduction et études génétiques (prélèvements en vue de l’extraction d’ADN)

Michel Pichon © Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Que souhaitez-vous démontrer avec les échantillons prélevés sur les 5 archipels de Polynésie française ?

De façon générale, les prélèvements effectués sur l’ensemble des récifs de Polynésie Française, permettront de préciser la composition des  faunes coralliennes mésophotiques dans les diverses zones, de les comparer et d’expliquer les différences observées en les reliant a des considérations d’ordre biogéographique et aux variations de divers facteurs, tels que les caractéristiques physiques du milieu. Par ailleurs les analyses pratiquées sur les échantillons récoltés permettront d’expliquer comment les coraux mésophotiques se sont adaptés à des conditions de vie très particulières (luminosité très réduite, basses températures, etc..) et d’évaluer leur potentiel à servir de refuge et de pépinières permettant éventuellement la recolonisation des récifs superficiels qui sont de plus en plus dégradés du fait d’impacts naturels (réchauffement climatique) ou du fait des activités humaines.

Michel Pichon © Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Pour terminer, peux-tu nous livrer un de tes plus beaux moments vécus à bord durant ces derniers mois ?

D’une part, pour le scientifique que je suis, les vues des peuplements mésophotiques in situ, grâce aux très belles images réalisées par nos photographes ont été des moments très forts, notamment les extraordinaires photos des pentes couvertes de grandes colonies de Leptoseris solida a plus de 100 m de profondeur à Makatea.

Par ailleurs, l’aventure humaine n’a été à nulle autre pareille : Se retrouver sur un voilier « familial » (Un coucou à Robin et Tom !) équipé essentiellement pour la plongée technique et la communication audio-visuelle, parfois surpeuplé, sans espace ou équipement dédié ou utilisable pour la science a été une expérience (parfaitement  réussie) hors du commun. Une ambiance familiale et fraternelle d’une équipe de copains mus par une passion commune, opérant professionnellement suivant les standards de sécurité les plus exigeants et d’une disponibilité totale, sont des situations que je n’ai trouvées – et ne retrouverai nulle part ailleurs.

Michel Pichon © Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole