Ghislain Bardout, could you tell us about the overall objectives of the DeepHope program currently on-going ?

GHISLAIN_BARDOUT_UNDER_THE_POLE_PORTRAIT_Under_The_Pole

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

We are currently half-way though the DeepHope program, a scientific project surveying the deep corals ecosystems. It started in July 2018 and will be ending in June 2019, when the WHY will be back in Tahiti after 12 months of sailing across five archipelagos and surveying 15 islands.

DeepHope has been designed together with Laëtitia Hédouin, Researcher from the CNRS at the CRIOBE. The CRIOBE is the Insular Research Center and Environment Observatory based in Moorea, French Polynesia.

DeepHope is focusing on mesophotic corals. The word mesophotic comes from the ancient greek. Meso means ”median’’ and photic means ‘’light’’. The mesophotic zone is therefore this zone named also twilight zone located where the sun struggles to penetrate the water, which is between -30m and -150m. Generally speaking, researchers cannot dive past the -30m mark and this is exactly we are busy working on: everything coral past the -30m depth down to -150m.

Under_the_pole__16-WHY_POLYNESIE

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

 Where are you at in this program and how is it happening concretely?

Today, we are mid-March. We have already dived in the Society islands, more specifically in Bora-Bora and Moorea. Coming into the Tuamotus, we have surveyed Makatea, Tikehau, Rangiroa and Rarohia. Then we headed to the Marquesas: Faut Hiva, Tahuata and Hiva Oha and we are standing-by to keep sailing towards the Gambier archipelago. After that we will have to stop in the Australs archipelago with the islands of Raivavae and Tubuai, before making our way back to Tahiti in June 2019.\

So far, we have over 4000 samples that have collected, sampled and conditionned. We have also shot thousands of photo-quadrats on the six depths at which we operate the scientific work: -6m, -20m, -40m, -60m, -90m and -120m.

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

On top of that we have been going futher down to -150m, sometimes deeper, in order to find the deepest corals we could find. We regularly found the samples specie: the Leptoseris, which we have found down to -150m. We think that those corals could be living even deeper than -150m…but it is indeed difficult to confirm. Collecting samples at those depths can only be occasional.

Beyond the samples, we also collect a great amount of oceanographic data which help us to put characterise the environment where corals live: temperature, light, salinity, pH, etc…

The amount of data collected by the DeepHope program is absolutely unprecedented, whether it’s on the density, diversity and partition of the different coral species.

For instance, some species can easily be found at -20m, but we can also find them way below that depth too, like the Pachyseris which we have found down to -90m on several occasions.

This can also vary from one region to another: in the Marquesas we have found some corals that we haven’t found anywhere else. And vice-versa. We have discovered noticeable differences in density and diversity. 

We have essentially taking like a large picture, a portrait if you will, of the deep corals of Polynesia.

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

 What was the preparation like for this intense program of diving?

This scientific program can only be done through deep diving. It’s a full year of field work, of diving but more specifically deep-diving. The dives are done gas mixes: helium, oxygen and nitrogen. We call this type of mix ‘’trimix’’ in diving terms. These dives are pretty committing, very deep with a changing team. There is some kind of roster onboard.

Under_the_pole_17-trimixte

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

There is also a great degree of repetition, day after day, month after month, during a whole year. Let’s not forget that French Polynesia is as wide as the greater Europe. The WHY helps us navigate this vast region but is also our technical and logistical platform for everything diving related. All those elements make the DeepHope program a really intense one.

Therefore we have to prepare the team to manage this project in the best possible conditions. This is where all the work that we have done upstream was critical in regards to the preparation of the equipment and the logistical organisation of the expedition.

LAETITA_HEDOUIN_UNDER_THE_POLE_CRIOBE

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

The team from the CRIOBE has managed the scientific fold of the project, like the equipment and everything relating to the sampling of corals for instance. We all gathered last August for a workshop with both teams (Under The Pole and the CRIOBE). The idea was to get to know each other, to learn from one another, and to define the scientific and diving protocols, as well as the difficulties, potential risks and limitations.

We, the divers, also received a training on coral taxonomy, as it was a new concept for most of us. Even if we knew some bits, we didn’t know as much as the scientists. Today, we’ve closed that gap.

Work_shop_ghislain_manue_pichon_under_the_pole_III-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

An regarding the diving preparation ?

For the diving side of things, we have had a gradual progression. We started with one month of intense training with a renowned instructor: Aldo Ferrucci.

UNDER_THE_POLE_FORMATION_SOUS_MARINE-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Repetition is really important. It is critical to constantly challenge oneself, remain open, seek to maintain one’s skill level, especially when doing such an activity: deep diving. Technics evolve over time, and it is really key to train and repeat those new gestures or drills to stay on top of our game. It is absolutely vital to be well trained.

From mid-August, we started the dives with the scientific team. We began to repeat the protocols directly on the working sites, in order to get familiar with the equipment and sampling technics. This allowed us to get direct feedback from the scientists. Our learning curve was really short and steep.

PRELEVEMENTSCIENTIFIQUE_UNDERTHEPOLE_POLYNESIE-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

The first working site took the longest: this was where we trained if you will, but once we got to Bora Bora, the team really hit the ground running.

Since then, we’ve just rolled-out the program. Onboard we have two scientists, sometimes three, or even four, with some specialists who come here on short-term basis. Before we’ve even realised, it’s March already and we have already completed two-third of the program.

We already have some promising results. In four months, when this year long on-field phase will be completed, the second phase of the project will start in the laboratories for the analysis of all the data. This should result in a large number of publications and reports on the mesophotic corals of French Polynesia. But beyond this, it may trigger some similar programs, maybe of comparable scope, in Polynesia or else where in the world. 

ghislain_manue_pichon_under_the_pole_III-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

 What are the inherent risks of this kind of diving ?

A deep diving program with the use of gas mixes like DeepHope are certainly requires a lot of commitment. It’s a matter of being well trained and never loose sight on the organisational elements and what we are there for. We have to constantly maintain this fine balance between life onboard and the physical exertion, to keep as far away from certain limits. The main risk is called routine.

We should never consider any of the dives we do on this program as standard. Those are out of the ordinary and will remain so. Every single dive must be correctly prepared, and everyone must stay within one’s own adequate depth corresponding to one’s level of experience. Only gradually, the experience will slowly allow to go deeper, down to -120m and more.

Under_the_pole__5-compressorUnder_the_pole__5-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Other the risk is to get exposed to accidents which could quickly become disastrous, especially talking about decompression incidents.

Of course, we dive with procedures that have been tested, with sufficiently reasonable margins, but decompression is not an exact science. If we look at the number of dives we do, we are statistically more exposed that occasional divers.

But beyond decompression, we have to have a decent knowledge of the environment. We do these exceptional dives in spectacularly clear waters, so rich, with a reef that is home to a lot of fish from the smallest to the largest ones. It is a whole ecosystem of life and biodiversity. Moreover, we dive on the places less travelled, in waters and depths never dived. There are apex predators like sharks that you have to know. We have witnessed some inquisitive or even territorial behaviours. When you dive in wild waters, you have to understand the inhabitants of those waters to maximise your own safety.

under_the_pole_polynesie_requin-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

 What is your weekly frequency of diving ?

One island means two working sites. This requires about 12 to 15 days of work. To complete one site, 3 or 4 days of diving are necessary, with a no-dive day in the middle. This day is usually dedicated to the collection of bathymetric data, which is done from the surface, with sonars.

UNDER_THE_POLE_ENFANT-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Between the two sites, we generally assign one education day. We spend one day on every island to work on pedagogy and raise awareness by sharing with the youngest one in the local schools. This represents over a dozen days per site with at least 8 days of diving.

 Are you satisfied with the diving from a technical point of view ?

Technically, yes. The dives are going really well. The month of training allowed to align all technics and procedures. From the get-go, the team spoke the same language. This improved greatly our efficiency but more importantly our safety. During this period of training we have define our standards for this program, in order to reduce any unnecessary exposure. From a scientific point of view, the workshop has been also very beneficial.

Under_the_pole__11-Honda

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

From mid-August, we got straight into the program and gradually gained in experience. We quickly became really efficient. We have crossed one island after another on our list with the same protocols and it always went smoothly.

Of course, sometimes we had to face challenges. The weather has caused some delays, but overall the program is rolling-out really smoothly. The scientists are enthusiast, and they see groundbreaking perspectives for the science and for the corals. This reinforces the grounds and the relevance of this program which we had identified as one with great potential with Laëtitia Hédouin over three years ago now.

 From a scientific point of view, how is everything going? Have you made some discoveries ?

We can already say that we have discovered a new family of corals that was not known in French Polynesia before. We might also have found a new specie. But before making announcements, the scientists want to complete their research for like taxonomic/genetic analysis. We cannot share non-verified data. This scientific rigour is key and we should not cut corners here.

However, we can already present a first mid-term assessment of the Deephope programme.

 What has been your most amazing moment on this first part of the expedition ?

It is hard to pick one on such a long time on expedition. I would actually have at least two.

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

I can think of a strong memory whilst diving over -150m with Julien Leblond, to see where would be the low limit for the corals on this site. At the bottom, we were making a u-turn alongside this steep cliff. Of course it was dark but the water was really clear. We looked down to try to see below our fins, and we could see like a change in the cliff face, probably around the -200m mark. Rather that dropping straight down to the abyss like it is usually the case, it actually looked like it was flat, like a plain or a plateau. It was very different from what we generally witness here in Polynesia where we mainly see verticality. Of couse, we wanted to go and check it out. Every diver would want that: to see what’s further down. But we had to make our ascent towards the surface. This moment will forever feel like a dream, a vision. This is what I find extraordinary with diving. It is like an endless world that will never be fully explored. So, during every dive, we look further down and try to imagine what we could find.

MAKATEAU_UNDER_THE_POLE_POLYNESIE

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Another great memory is in Makatea.

This island is very different from all the other islands in Polynesia. It’s a high island, with unique geological characteristics. There are vertical cliffs all around it and inside lies a tropical primary forest covering almost the entire island. It is very difficult to access this place: there is no airport or protected shelter for boats. Only a couple of exposed buoys for short-term mooring. We did a first dive to scout the place and see what we could hope to find. And we found the most extraordinary reef, particularly rich, with a Leptoseris coral cover close to 100% at depths of 80-90m.

We didn’t see that anywhere else. It was an unprecedented discovery. This naturally asks the question: why such fields of corals that deep? Normally we’d see corals scattered around at those depths. Here, the place was just fully covered. On top of that we also found cave and overhangs booming with life. This site ended up being one of the most interesting one from a scientific standpoint, very promising. We have therefore planned to go back again in June, just before the end of the expedition, and to treat it as a proper scientific dive site.

Ghislain Bardout

quadra_under_the_pole_polyneise-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Ghislain Bardout, pouvez-vous nous expliquer les grands principes du programme DeepHope, que vous réalisez actuellement ?

 

GHISLAIN_BARDOUT_UNDER_THE_POLE_PORTRAIT_Under_The_Pole

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

On est maintenant à mi-parcours du programme DeepHope, programme scientifique d’étude sur les récifs coralliens profonds. Celui-ci a commencé en juillet 2018 et se terminera fin juin 2019, quand le Why rentrera à Tahiti, après avoir parcouru pendant 12 mois, les cinq archipels et visité une quinzaine d’îles de la Polynésie française.

DeepHope, a été écrit en lien avec Laëtitia Hédouin, chercheuse CNRS au CRIOBE. Le CRIOBE, c’est le centre de recherche insulaire et observatoire de l’environnement, basé à Moorea.

DeepHope s’intéresse aux coraux dits mésophotiques. Mésophotique est un mot qui vient du grec. Méso signifie MEDIAN et photique LUMIÈRE. La zone mésophotique est donc une zone moyennement éclairée par le soleil, qui se situe entre -30 et -150 mètres. Généralement, les chercheurs ne peuvent pas plonger au-delà de 30 mètres et justement, on va s’intéresser à tous les coraux que l’on va trouver au-delà de 30 mètres et ce, jusqu’à 150 mètres.

Under_the_pole__16-WHY_POLYNESIE

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

  Où en êtes-vous de ce programme et comment cela se passe-t-il en pratique ?

Aujourd’hui on est mi-mars. On a plongé sur l’archipel des îles de la Société, en particulier sur Bora Bora et Moorea. En approchant les Tuamotu, on a traité Makatea, Tikehau, Rangiroa, Rarohia. Ensuite, trois îles sur les Marquises : Fatu Hiva, Tahuata et Hiva Oha et nous sommes actuellement en stand-by pour poursuivre la navigation vers les Gambiers. Il nous restera ensuite les îles Australes, avec Raivavae et Tubuai, avant de rentrer sur Tahiti, en juin 2019.

Jusqu’à aujourd’hui, on a environ 4000 échantillons qui ont été collectées, échantillonnés et conditionnés. On a aussi effectué des milliers de photos-quadrat sur les six profondeurs types sur lesquelles on travaille. Pour rappel, les zones de recherches se situent à 6 mètres, 20 mètres, 40 mètres, 60 mètres, 90 mètres et 120 mètres.

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Et puis, on est allé voir aussi régulièrement au-delà de ces profondeurs, jusqu’à 150 mètres et même parfois un peu plus, pour trouver quelle était la limite basse de ces coraux. On va voir couramment une espèce : le leptoseris, qu’on a trouvé jusqu’à 150 mètres. On pense qu’il y en a au-delà, mais …. évidemment, c’est difficile à vérifier. Aller les collecter à de telles profondeurs, cela reste occasionnel.

En plus des échantillons de coraux, on collecte aussi un très grand nombre de données océanographiques essentielles qui nous permettent de caractériser le milieu : la température, la salinité, la lumière qui sont autant d’informations sur l’environnement de ces coraux.

Le programme DeepHope permet de recueillir des informations sans précédent sur la densité, la diversité et la répartition des espèces de coraux.

Par exemple, il y a des espèces qu’on trouve facilement jusqu’à 20 mètres, mais qu’on retrouve aussi bien au-delà. Je pense en particuliers aux coraux Pachyseris qu’on va trouver de façon assez fréquente jusqu’à la zone des 90 mètres.

En même temps cela peut varier d’une région à une autre : il y a des espèces de coraux que l’on va trouver par exemple aux Marquises et pas ailleurs. Et inversement. On va donc avoir des différences de densité et de diversité qui sont absolument notables.

C’est un peu comme une grande photo, un portrait des coraux profonds en Polynésie.

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

  Comment vous êtes-vous préparé à ce programme de plongées intenses ?

Ce programme est un programme d’études qui se passent d’abord en plongée. C’est une année de terrain, une année de plongées et surtout une année de plongées profondes. Les plongées se font avec des mélanges respiratoires : de l’hélium, de l’oxygène, de l’azote. On appelle ce type de mélange « trimix » dans le jargon de la plongée. C’est de la plongée engagée, des plongées très profondes, avec une équipe qui tourne. Car bien évidemment, il y a roulement de l’équipe à bord.

Under_the_pole_17-trimixte

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

Mais il y a surtout une répétition, jour après jour, mois après mois, pendant une année, sur une très grande étendue. Il ne faut pas oublier que la Polynésie française c’est grand comme l’Europe. Le Why, au fil des miles, parcourt cette région avec évidemment la dimension navigation, et tout ce qu’il y a à gérer autour de la plongée. Chacun de ces paramètres font que c’est un programme très dense.

Pour le mener à bien, dans les meilleures conditions, il s’agit bien évidemment de se préparer au mieux. C’est ce que nous avons fait de notre coté, dans la préparation du matériel en amont, ainsi que l’organisation de l’expédition.

LAETITA_HEDOUIN_UNDER_THE_POLE_CRIOBE

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

L’équipe du CRIOBE a de son coté préparé toute la partie scientifique, le matériel et toute l’organisation autour de l’échantillonnage par exemple. Et puis on s’est tous retrouvé au mois d’Août l’année dernière, pour une sorte de workshop avec l’équipe scientifique d’une part et l’équipe Under The Pole de l’autre. L’idée c’était de faire connaissance, d’apprendre les uns des autres, et de voir quels allaient être les protocoles d’échantillonnage et de plongée, quelles allaient être les difficultés, les limites.

Et puis on a aussi suivi une partie formation sur la taxonomie des coraux, pour nous l’équipe plongeurs puisque on n’était pas forcément familier, du moins, bien moins que les scientifiques. Heureusement aujourd’hui, on l’est devenu.

Work_shop_ghislain_manue_pichon_under_the_pole_III-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

  Et concernant la partie plongée ?

Pour la partie plongée, on a eu une montée en puissance progressive. On a commencé le programme par un mois d’entraînement à la plongée intensive avec un instructeur expérimenté de renom : Aldo Ferrucci

UNDER_THE_POLE_FORMATION_SOUS_MARINE-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

La répétition est un élément très important. Quand on mène une activité comme la plongée profonde, il faut continuellement se remettre en question, se former, se maintenir à niveau, rester ouvert. Les techniques évoluent, il faut s’entraîner et répéter les gestes pour toujours rester affûté. En d’autres termes il est vital d’être bien entraîné.

À partir de mi-Août dans la foulée du workshop, on a attaqué les plongées avec l’équipe scientifique. On a commencé à répéter les protocoles directement sur les sites de travail, pour se familiariser avec le matériel et les techniques d’échantillonnage. Cela nous a permis d’avoir les retours directs des scientifiques. Assez rapidement, comme ça, on a eu une formation très condensée et très intense.

PRELEVEMENTSCIENTIFIQUE_UNDERTHEPOLE_POLYNESIE-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Le premier site de travail évidemment a été plus long à traiter : c’était un site école, d’une certaine manière, mais après, quand on est parti à Bora Bora, l’équipe était parfaitement rodée.

Depuis, on a enchaîné le programme. A bord, on a en permanence deux scientifiques, parfois trois, voire quatre, avec des spécialistes qui viennent aussi ponctuellement. Et au fil du temps finalement, on se rend compte qu’on est déjà en Mars et qu’on a fait les deux tiers du programme.

On a des résultats très prometteurs. Dans quatre mois, au terme de cette première année de terrain, on rentrera dans la deuxième phase du projet DeepHope qui sera plus une phase dite « de laboratoire et d’analyses »  de toutes les données recueillies. Avec à terme bien évidemment un grand nombre de publications et de comptes-rendus sur les coraux mésophotiques de la Polynésie française. Au-delà, cela donnera certainement lieu à d’autres programmes de cette nature et peut-être de cette ampleur dans le Pacifique et dans le monde.

ghislain_manue_pichon_under_the_pole_III-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

  Quels sont les risques inhérents à ce type de plongée ?

Un programme de plongée profonde avec des mélanges respiratoires, comme le programme DeepHope, c’est un programme qui est engagé. Il s’agit d’être bien entraîné et de garder un fort recul sur l’organisation, sur ce qu’on est en train de faire. Il faut veiller à conserver un équilibre entre la vie à bord et la fatigue de manière à ne jamais approcher certaines limites. Le risque principal : c’est la routine.

Il ne faut pas banaliser les plongées que l’on fait sur ce programme. Ce ne sont pas des plongées banales. Et elles ne le seront jamais. Chacune de ses plongées doit être rigoureusement préparée. Et chacun doit toujours évoluer dans des zones de profondeur en adéquation avec son niveau et son expérience. Et en appliquant une progression lente de manière à, petit un petit, acquérir une grosse expérience avant de descendre plus profond et en particulier jusqu’aux profondeurs extrêmes du programme qui sont 120m et au-delà.

Under_the_pole__5-compressorUnder_the_pole__5-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Sinon, le risque c’est de s’exposer à des accidents qui peuvent être rapidement problématiques voire graves, notamment les accidents de décompression.

Évidemment, on plonge avec des procédures de plongée qui sont éprouvées, avec des marges de sécurité qui sont très raisonnables, mais la décompression n’est pas une science exacte. Statistiquement, si on tient compte de la fatigue et du nombre de plongées effectuées, on est forcément plus exposé que des plongeurs qui ne plongeraient qu’occasionnellement.

Au-delà de la partie décompression, il s’agit ici en Polynésie, d’avoir une bonne connaissance du milieu. Ce sont des plongées exceptionnelles et spectaculaires dans une eau très claire, très riche, poissonneuse avec des récifs coralliens qui servent d’habitat aux maillons essentiels de la chaîne alimentaire, des plus petits poissons aux plus gros. C’est tout un écosystème de vie et de biodiversité. De plus, on plonge hors des sentiers battus sur ce programme, loin des zones habituellement fréquentées par les autres plongeurs et les touristes. Il y a aussi des prédateurs, les requins, qu’il faut bien connaître. On a pu observer des comportements inquisiteurs, des comportements territoriaux. Quand on plonge dans un milieu sauvage, il faut bien en connaître ses habitants pour pouvoir évoluer en toute sécurité.

under_the_pole_polynesie_requin-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

  Quel est votre rythme hebdomadaire de plongée ?

Une île, c’est deux sites de plongée. Cela nécessite 12 à 15 jours de travail. Pour couvrir un site, il faut trois voire quatre journées de plongée, avec une journée de pause au milieu. Cette journée de pause est en général consacrée à la réalisation des données bathymétrique car cela se fait depuis la surface, avec des sondes.

UNDER_THE_POLE_ENFANT-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Entre les deux sites, généralement, on a une pause d’une journée qui permet de faire la journée éducation. Car sur chaque île où l’on va, on consacre une journée à la pédagogie et la sensibilisation via la transmission auprès des jeunes dans les écoles. Cela représente une douzaine de jours par site avec huit jours de plongée.

  Êtes-vous satisfait du déroulement technique des plongées ?

Techniquement oui. Les plongées se passent très bien. Le mois de formation et d’entraînement à la plongée nous a permis de normaliser les techniques et les procédures. Toute l’équipe, d’entrée de jeu, a parlé le même langage. Cela nous a permis de gagner considérablement en efficacité et surtout en sécurité. On a défini au terme de cet entraînement, nos standards pour ce programme, afin de ne pas s’exposer au-delà du nécessaire. Et puis, le workshop pour la partie plus scientifique a été particulièrement utile.

Under_the_pole__11-Honda

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

À partir de mi-Août, on est rentré de plain-pied dans le programme et progressivement gagné en expérience. On est rentré rapidement dans un rythme très efficace. On a enchaîné des îles toujours sur le même protocole, et ça s’est très bien déroulé.

Évidemment, parfois on a eu plus de difficultés. Il y a les aléas de la météo qui nous font perdre parfois du temps mais c’est un programme qui se déroule parfaitement. Les scientifiques sont enthousiastes, ils voient des perspectives sans précédent pour la science et les coraux. Évidemment, cela nous conforte dans l’intérêt et la pertinence de ce programme qu’on avait identifié avec Laëtitia Hédouin, il y a maintenant trois ans, quand on a commencé à en parler.

  D’un point de vue scientifique comment cela se passe-t-il ? Avez-vous fait des découvertes ?

C’est acté qu’on a découvert de nouveaux genres de coraux pour la Polynésie française qui n’étaient pas identifiés auparavant. On a probablement trouvé une nouvelle espèce. Avant d’affirmer les choses, les scientifiques veulent aller au bout de leurs recherches et de leurs analyses taxonomiques et génétiques, entre autre. Il ne faut pas avancer de données qui seraient erronées. C’est là toute la rigueur du travail des scientifiques et bien évidemment, il ne s’agit pas d’aller plus vite qu’eux.

Cependant, nous pouvons déjà presenter un premier bilan chiffré à mi-parcours du programme Deephope.

  Quel est votre plus beau moment sur cette première partie de l’expédition ?

C’est difficile de sortir un seul meilleur moment d’un programme aussi long. J’en évoquerai au moins deux.

© Maxime Horlaville / Under The Pole

Un souvenir très fort en plongée, ça a été justement sur une plongée très profonde au-delà de 150m, plongée que je faisais avec Julien Leblond, pour aller voir où était la limite basse des coraux sur ce site. Tout au fond, quand on a fait demi-tour, on était sur une pente inclinée avec de l’eau très claire. Il faisait sombre bien sûr, mais on voyait parfaitement car l’eau était limpide. On s’est tourné vers le bas pour voir ce qu’il y a au-delà, et on voyait comme une rupture de pente, probablement dans la zone des 200m. Au lieu de s’enfoncer davantage dans les profondeurs, comme c’est souvent le cas, ca s’aplatissait, comme une plaine descendante vers le large. C’était une vision extraordinaire, qui tranche avec ce qu’on a l’habitude de voir. En général, ici en Polynésie, on est sur de la verticalité. Là, on avait comme une grande plaine qui s’étendait devant nous. Évidemment, on avait envie d’aller voir. Tous les plongeurs ont cette envie : aller voir ce qu’il y a au-delà. Mais il fallait rentrer, remonter. Ce moment restera comme une vision, un rêve. C’est ce qui est formidable dans la plongée. C’est un peu comme un monde sans fin qu’on n’aura jamais fini d’explorer. Comme à chaque plongée, on regarde au-delà et on imagine ce qu’on pourrait y croiser.

MAKATEAU_UNDER_THE_POLE_POLYNESIE

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole

Un autre souvenir, c’est à Makatea

C’est une île différente de toutes les autres îles en Polynésie. Elle a une géologie très particulière, surélevée. Elle présente des falaises sur tout son pourtour et au cœur, une forêt primaire luxuriante qui la recouvre intégralement. Elle est très difficile d’accès : il n’y a pas d’aéroport et pas d’abri pour les bateaux. Quelques bouées où l’on peut s’amarrer ponctuellement. On a fait une première reconnaissance, pour voir ce qu’on pouvait espérer trouver et justement on a découvert des fonds extraordinaires, particulièrement riches, avec une couverture corallienne de Leptoseris solida quasiment à 100 % sur des profondeurs de 80 ou 90m.

On n’a jamais vu ça ailleurs. C’est sans précédent. On s’interroge donc pourquoi de tels champs de coraux à de telles profondeurs ? D’habitude, on en voit quelques uns simplement. Là, le tombant en était entièrement recouvert. Et puis, des grottes, des cavités avec une vie absolument luxuriante. C’est un site qui s’est révélé extrêmement intéressant scientifiquement, très prometteur. On a prévu d’y retourner au mois de juin, avant la fin d’expédition, et de la traiter comme les autres îles du programme scientifique.

Ghislain Bardout

quadra_under_the_pole_polyneise-compressor

© Franck Gazzola / Under The Pole