JOIN OUR EXPEDITIONS

barrejaune

Hungry for adventure?

COME ON BOARD THE EXPLORER PROGRAM

Under The Pole Explorer is your opportunity to gain insight into a large-scale expedition and to discover rarely visited places. Enroll as a trainee in an exploratory expedition and take the alternative route to global travel.

A chance to discover breathtakingly beautiful regions in the company of scientists, explorers, or film crews and to have a glimpse of the world available to only a lucky few.

All training programs are based aboard the WHY expedition vessel. You will be guided by the Under The Pole expedition teams and can take advantage of the vessel’s state-of-the-art equipment.

barre bleu

TWO APPROACHES, ONE EXPEDITION

OUR TRAINING PROGRAMS

Diving training program

The UTP Explorer diving programs are unique: you will discover far-off, untouched regions while diving with a regular cylinder or a trimix rebreather, and have the opportunity to participate in underwater studies with the expedition team.

  • Polar diving and ice diving training
  • Underwater photography and/or videography training
  • Rebreather training
  • Exploration training

 

Sailing training program

During the WHY’s conveyance between its mission areas, embark on open sea crossings to experience the high sea and to appreciate stops ashore. During coastal sailing, the WHY makes headway by sail or engine, depending on the schedule and the weather, and you’ll have the chance for plenty of anchoring and excursions.

  • Open sea sailing training (learn about life at sea, taking watch, maneuvers, etc.)
  • Coastal sailing training (sailing in ice, anchoring, maneuvers, etc.)

More to explore

Under The Pole specializes in underwater exploration, but also offers numerous opportunities for discovery, enrichment, and exploration: observation of flora and fauna, scientific studies, documentary filming and reportage photography, trekking and glacier hiking, mountaineering, cross-country skiing, polar bivouacking, kayaking, and more.

barre bleu

SCHEDULE

BE PART OF OUR AROUND-THE-WORLD TOUR LIKE NO OTHER 2017-2020

MAY 2017 TO MARCH 2018

Arctic

APRIL 2018 TO SEPTEMBER 2019

Pacific

OCTOBER 2019 TO FEBRUARY 2020

Antarctic

MARCH 2020 TO JUNE 2020

Atlantic

barre bleu

TESTIMONIALS

FEEDBACK FROM EXPLORERS ON UTP II

stephane-01The welcome I received from Ghislain and his team immediately made me feel at ease, like I was truly part of the group. I spent 15 days on another planet experiencing spectacular moments –like seeing the Northern Lights– in a terrific, welcoming, yet very professional group. I hope to be able to join the upcoming UTP III expedition in a few months!

– Stéphane L., embarked in Greenland on UTP II

Read the full testimonial

After finding out about and following the first UTP Arctic expedition in the media, I was surprised to find out that UTP II (with the discovery of Greenland) was open to explorers in training! I had been toying with the idea of participating in an underwater expedition for a long time. I was just waiting to find the right opportunity. So, in February 2015 I joined the UTP team and the WHY on the western coast of Greenland near a village named Ikerasak. This adventure allowed me to perform my first cold water and ice dives. I was confronted with overwintering complications on the ice field. But I was also able to get to know the people of Greenland and discover their way of life. The welcome I received from Ghislain and his team immediately made me feel at ease, like I was truly part of the group. With each person having their function on board, according to their area of competence, the apprenticeship is quite varied and hands-on: diving in a polar environment and safety precautions, taking photos and editing images, ice-fishing the Greenlandic way, living life in a polar environment, taking scientific samples, and above all, making chocolate profiteroles in the most extreme environment: a 10 square foot kitchen! To sum it all up, I spent 15 days on another planet experiencing spectacular moments –like seeing the Northern Lights– in a terrific, welcoming, yet very professional group. I hope to be able to join the upcoming UTP III expedition in a few months!

Thank you to the entire team!

Stéphane

bertrand-01I immediately felt like a member of their small family and I quickly found my place thanks to their inclusiveness and their big hearts! I experienced the most amazing dives of my life beneath the ice field, where I discovered a multitude of color shades, types of ice, and plays of light that made each dive unique! I can never thank Manue and Ghislain enough for allowing me to experience these extraordinary moments and for welcoming me so graciously!

– Bertrand F., embarked twice in Greenland on UTP II

Read the full testimonial

As I’m passionate about scuba diving and the polar regions, I’d always searched for a trip that would allow me to combine the two. After returning from a short expedition in the White Sea in northern Russia, I began my hunt for a new project. During my extensive search online, I tracked down Ghislain and Manue, about whom I hadn’t heard anything since their feats during their first adventure to the North Pole (UTP I). I was surprised to learn that they were preparing for a new diving expedition around Greenland and that it was open to passionate amateurs (UTPII)! Without a second thought, I signed up for a two-week sailing loop in the area around Sisimiut at the end of spring 2014. What memories! I had a blast diving around the icebergs and under the pack and exploring the snow-capped mountains of the western coast.

But the most important thing was how the entire team aboard welcomed me so warmly. I immediately felt like a member of their small family and I quickly found my place thanks to their inclusiveness and their big hearts! I could have listened all night long to the explorers, adventurers, and sailors tell stories of their journeys to the four corners of the world. My fondest memory of the dive has to be when I discovered the blast of air that comes from an iceberg when it moves, leaving traces on the sandy soil, and the end-of-the-dive swim we had in the blazing sunshine in a lagoon dug into the surface of the iceberg. The only thing missing was a pina colada!

After two weeks on board, I left the WHY, Kayak and the rest of the team with a heavy heart… As soon as I returned, I got to work preparing for my second trip with the UTP team, as they were planning to spend the winter in northern Greenland. This time, there was a change of scenery: ice fields as far as the eye could see, unmoving ice floes, extreme cold, and sleds! How could I resist? In late winter 2015, Manue and Ghislain welcomed me with open arms once again and I prepared to spend, along with another trainee, Stéphane, 15 days underneath (during the day) and on (at night) the ice field! I experienced the most amazing dives of my life, in which I discovered a multitude of color shades, types of ice, and plays of light that made each dive unique! The thing that struck me the most was the logistics that went into allowing three people to spend an hour in the ice underwater. It truly involves a lot of effort, endurance, and, above all, teamwork! Everyone would help each other out, and we trainees received special attention, knowing that we were new to much of the diving equipment and techniques used in these very particular sites. I also can’t forget to mention our encounter with the inhabitants of Ummannaq and Ikerasak who, like all the Inuits, taught us so much about life, the perception of time, and the importance of helping one another in society.

I can never thank Manue and Ghislain enough, as well as all of the UTPII team members, for allowing me to experience these extraordinary moments and for welcoming me so graciously!

See you soon on UTP III!

Bertrand

pascal-01The warm, friendly atmosphere made me immediately feel like part of the family. We left at 4:00 AM the next day for Disko Island. We navigated slowly while clearing a path in the ice pack, then on open water. When we arrived, we met a scientist specialized in Greenland sharks, John, who studies them from his boat. We spent 3 days with him and also saw several impressive specimens. Thank you to Ghislain, Manu, and their entire team for allowing me to share these magical moments.

– Pascal D., embarked in Greenland on UTP II

Read the full testimonial

I came across the expedition completely by chance when sailing off the coast of southern Brittany. The WHY schooner, which I saw in the Glenan Islands and in Concarneau, intrigued me and after doing some research, I found out about the UTP II project. This fit very well with the desire I’d had for a long time to go cold water diving, not having found the right opportunity to do so. So I was ready to jump into the adventure and applied without thinking twice.

When I visited the boat in September, I was convinced by the quality of the WHY’s construction, the professionalism of Ghislain and Manue had demonstrated time and again during previous expeditions, and the dream team they assembled around them. Being invited to participate in a scientific expedition with a team of extreme divers is an extraordinary opportunity. The meeting was set for the following spring.

I kept up my motivation for winter training by following the progression of the WHY towards Greenland in severe weather conditions.

In May, I left for Ilulissat, in the Disko Bay, where the WHY arrived up the coast gradually as the ice melted. The weather was calm and mild.

Welcome aboard! The warm, friendly atmosphere made me immediately feel like part of the family. We left at 4:00 AM next day for Disko Island. We navigated slowly while clearing a path in the ice pack, then on open water. When we arrived, we met a scientist specialized in Greenland sharks, John, who studies them from his boat. We spent 3 days with him and also saw several impressive specimens.

Unfortunately, the phytoplankton began to proliferate at the beginning of spring, making the water murky and greenish at the surface. I dropped the idea of the atmospheric blue-toned shots of the icescape I had in mind, as only close-up photography was possible. In Godhaven, the flora and fauna were less vivid than in the north Pacific: the drop off was lined with red, orange, and yellow sea cucumbers. There were some nudibranches and flatworms, as well, but few fish or crustaceans.

The equipment was fit for purpose: two separate blocks with two pressure reducers to isolate a circuit in case of frost. It was mostly my hands that felt cold.

We sailed towards the southwestern tip of Disko Island to dive and spend the night. The boat crawled along, weaving in and out of icebergs and growlers. It was vital to monitor the sounder, as the maps weren’t very precise and shoals weren’t always shown! It was then time for our first encounter with right whales. There was a whole pod of them. Our superhero divers Ghislain and Martin attempted to film it. But despite the water being a bit clearer about 230 feet down, they waited for the whales in vain. On the surface, the scenery was gorgeous, scattered with ice sheets and icebergs, and bustling with flocks of petrels and eiders enjoying the plankton. Their presence went hand in hand with that of the whales.

The divers without rebreathers descended on a black sand shoal between 49 and 82 feet down. Crustaceans, shrimp, sea cucumbers, razor clams, and variegated red worms were all seen on this biodiversity dive!

In the archipelago of the Kronprinsen Islands, improved visibility allowed me to capture the atmosphere in a few photos. At the same time, Ghislain and Martin dove down to 262 feet, testing and validating the various procedures. They were equipped with external and internal temperature sensors, as well as heart rate and respiratory monitors. Their readings were then analyzed.

The next day it was cloudy and snowing, but there was still no wind. We sailed for 17 miles on the engine to attempt to find clearer water in the south near Savik Island. We anchored in Napissaq for the night. The village was deserted. Most of the inhabitants were at work in the Royal fish factory, so we ran into them on their way home.

We returned to the north to dive in Claushavn near the icebergs. Under the layer of phytoplankton, the clear water allowed me to capture the atmosphere with my camera alongside my partner. There was an enormous, menacing wolffish ready to attack, so Romain didn’t want to approach and carefully kept his distance. Ever since Ghislain got attacked by one while filming it, the WHY team is wary of them!

Before returning to Ilulissat, Tonio and Ghislain looked for one last diving site: an iceberg. The temperature had noticeably increased over the last 15 days, so the icebergs had become weak, broken up, and could have even tipped over. So finding the right iceberg proved to be difficult. But we finally found it: magnificent with a series of rounded, bluish crevices.

It was a strange sight, a wall of ice sculpted out of small facets that made it look like a giant golf ball. It was cloudy and snowing, so a pity about the photos. I’ll have to come back…

Thank you to Ghislain, Manue, and their entire team for allowing me to share these magical moments.

Pascal

Tempted by the adventure?

Under The Pole III • 2017 2020

Presentation
Live
Blog
All our partners

Hungry for adventure?

Explorer: Come on board

Main partners

azzaro_logo

 

Would you like to talk about us?

Press Area

Are you a company?

Partners & Sponsors Section
Become a partner
Book a talk

Interested in supporting us?

Shop

Do you have a question?

Contact

About this website

Legal notice

aventure

PRENEZ PART AUX EXPÉDITIONS

barrejaune

Envie d’aventure ?

EMBARQUEZ AVEC LE PROGRAMME EXPLORER

Under The Pole Explorer, c’est la possibilité pour vous d’approcher le monde des grandes expéditions et de découvrir des espaces rarement visités. C’est aussi une manière de voyager différemment, en participant activement à une expédition d’exploration comme stagiaire.

Une chance de pouvoir découvrir des régions époustouflantes de beauté, en compagnie de scientifiques, d’explorateurs ou d’équipes de tournage et ainsi de découvrir le monde sous un regard privilégié.

Tous les stages se déroulent et s’organisent depuis le bateau de l’expédition – le WHY. Vous serez accompagnés par les membres des expéditions Under The Pole et bénéficierez de ses moyens matériels exceptionnels.

barre bleu

DEUX APPROCHES, UNE EXPÉDITION

NOS STAGES

Stage de plongée

Les programmes de plongée UTP Explorer sont uniques : vous découvrirez des régions totalement vierges et reculées, en plongée bouteille ou en recycleur au trimix, et vous aurez l’occasion de participer aux études sous-marines avec l’équipe de l’expédition.

  • Stage de formation à la plongée polaire et à la plongée sous glace
  • Stage de formation à la prise de vue sous-marine (photo et/ou vidéo)
  • Stage recycleur
  • Stage exploration

 

Stage de  navigation

Lors du convoyage du WHY entre ses zones de mission, embarquez sur des traversées hauturières pour vivre la haute mer et apprécier les escales à terre. En navigation côtière, le WHY progressera à la voile ou au moteur en fonction du programme et de la météo, et sera l’occasion de multiples mouillages et randonnées.

  • Stage de navigation hauturière (apprentissage de la vie en mer, de la prise de quart, manœuvres,…)
  • Stage de navigation côtière (navigation dans les glaces, mouillages, manœuvres,…

Et aussi …

Bien que spécialisé dans l’exploration sous-marine, Under The Pole présente de nombreuses possibilités de découverte, d’enrichissement et d’exploration : observations naturalistes, études scientifiques, tournage de documentaires et photoreportages, randonnée pédestre et glaciaire, alpinisme, ski de randonnée, bivouac polaire, kayak…

barre bleu

PROGRAMME

DE 2017 À 2020, PARTICIPEZ À UN TOUR DU MONDE EXCEPTIONNEL

MAI 2017 À MARS 2018

Arctique

AVRIL 2018 À SEPTEMBRE 2019

Pacifique

OCTOBRE 2019 À FÉVRIER 2020 

Antarctique

MARS 2020 À JUIN 2020

Atlantique

barre bleu

TÉMOIGNAGES

ILS L’ONT VÉCUS SUR UTP II

stephane-01L’accueil réservé par Ghislain et son équipe m’a permis de me sentir tout de suite à l’aise comme si je faisais partie intégrante du groupe. J’ai passé 15 jours sur une autre planète avec des moments fabuleux comme l’observation des aurores boréales, au sein d’un groupe chaleureux, formidable mais aussi très pro. J’espère bien pouvoir rejoindre la prochaine expédition UTP III d’ici quelques mois !

– Stéphane L., embarqué au Groenland sur UTP II

Lire le témoignage complet

Ayant découvert et suivi par la presse la première expédition UTP en arctique, quelle ne fut pas ma surprise lorsque je découvre qu’UTP II (avec la découverte du Groenland) était ouverte aux apprentis explorateurs (Explorers) ! Depuis longtemps l’idée de participer à une expédition sous-marine me trottait dans la tête. J’attendais de trouver la bonne opportunité. C’est donc en février 2015 que j’ai rejoint l’équipe d’ UTP et le WHY sur la côte Ouest du Groenland près d’un village qui s’appelle Ikerasak. Cette aventure m’a permis d’effectuer mes premières plongées en eau froide et sous la glace. J’ai été confronté aux complications de l’hivernage sur la banquise. Mais j’ai également pu partir à la rencontre du peuple Groenlandais et de son mode de vie. L’accueil réservé par Ghislain et son équipe m’a permis de me sentir tout de suite à l’aise comme si je faisais partie intégrante du groupe. Chacun ayant sa fonction à bord, selon son domaine de compétence, l’apprentissage est très vite varié, et pratique : plongée en milieu polaire et consignes de sécurité, photo et retouche d’image, pêche sur la banquise à la mode Groenlandaise, vie en milieu polaire, prise d’échantillons pour la science, et surtout préparation de profiteroles au chocolat dans un milieu extrême : la cuisine de 1 m² ! En résumé, j’ai passé 15 jours sur une autre planète avec des moments fabuleux comme l’observation des aurores boréales, au sein d’un groupe chaleureux, formidable mais aussi très pro. J’espère bien pouvoir rejoindre la prochaine expédition UTP III d’ici quelques mois !

Merci à toute l’équipe !

Stéphane

bertrand-01Je me suis senti immédiatement comme un membre de leur petite famille et j’ai très vite trouvé ma place grâce à leur capacité d’intégration et tout simplement à leur grand cœur ! J’ai réalisé sous la banquise les plus belles plongées de ma vie en découvrant la multitude de nuances de couleur, de types de glace, de jeux de lumière qui rendent chaque immersion unique ! Je ne remercierai jamais assez Manue et Ghislain de m’avoir permis de vivre ces moments extraordinaires et de m’avoir accueilli si gentiment !

– Bertrand F., embarqué deux fois au Groenland sur UTP II

Lire le témoignage complet

Passionné par la plongée sous-marine mais aussi par les contrées polaires, j’ai toujours été à la recherche des voyages me permettant d’allier les deux. Au retour d’une courte expédition dans le Nord de la Russie, en Mer Blanche, je me suis mis en chasse d’un nouveau projet. Durant mes longues recherches sur internet, j’ai retrouvé la trace de Ghislain et Manue dont je n’avais plus entendu parler depuis les exploits de leur première aventure au Pôle Nord (UTPI). Qu’elle ne fut pas ma surprise lorsque je découvrais qu’ils préparaient une nouvelle expédition plongée autour du Groenland et que celle-ci était ouverte aux passionnés amateurs (UTPII) ! Ni une ni deux, je m’inscris pour une boucle en voile de deux semaines aux alentours de Sisimiut à la fin du printemps 2014. Quels souvenirs ! Tant la plongée autour des icebergs ou sous le pack que la découverte des monts enneigés de la côte Ouest m’ont tout simplement ravi !

Mais le plus important a été l’accueil plus que cordial que m’a réservé toute l’équipe à bord. Je me suis senti immédiatement comme un membre de leur petite famille et j’ai très vite trouvé ma place grâce à leur capacité d’intégration et tout simplement à leur grand cœur ! Les soirées n’étaient pas assez longues pour écouter tous ces explorateurs, aventuriers et marins raconter leurs périples aux quatre coins de la planète. Mon plus beau souvenir de plongée aura été la découverte du « souffle de l’iceberg » quand celui-ci se déplace, et laisse des traces sur le sol sablonneux et mon clin d’oeil, la baignade de fin de plongée dans une lagune creusée à la surface de l’iceberg, sous un grand soleil ! Il ne manquait plus que la Pina Colada !

Après deux semaines à bord, je quittais le WHY, Kayak et toute l’équipe avec le cœur gros… Si tôt rentré, je me suis mis à l’œuvre de la préparation de mon second voyage avec l’équipe d’UTP car ils avaient le projet d’hiberner dans le Nord du Groenland. Cette fois-ci, changement de décor : banquise à perte de vue, glaçons immobiles, grand froid et traineaux! Comment résister ? À la fin de l’hiver 2015, Manue et Ghislain m’ouvraient à nouveau leurs bras et je m’apprêtais à passer, en compagnie d’un autre stagiaire, Stéphane, 15 jours sous (le jour) et sur (le soir) la banquise ! J’ai réalisé alors les plus belles plongées de ma vie en découvrant la multitude de nuances de couleur, de types de glace, de jeux de lumière qui rendent chaque immersion unique ! Le plus impressionnant était la logistique à mettre en place pour que trois personnes aillent passer une heure avec des glaçons sous l’eau ! Un vrai travail de force, d’endurance, mais surtout d’équipe ! Tout le monde s’entraidait, et nous, les stagiaires avions reçu une attention particulière, sachant que nous découvrions en grande partie le matériel et la technique de plongée, applicables à ces sites si particuliers. Je ne voudrais terminer sans parler de la rencontre avec les habitants d’Ummannaq et d’Ikerasak qui, comme tous les Inuit, ont beaucoup à nous apprendre de la vie, de la perception du temps et de l’importance de l’entraide en société.

Je ne remercierai jamais assez Manue et Ghislain ainsi que tous les membres des équipes UTPII de m’avoir permis de vivre ces moments extraordinaires et de m’avoir accueilli si gentiment !

À très vite sur UTPIII !

Bertrand

pascal-01Ambiance chaleureuse et conviviale on fait tout de suite parti de la famille. Départ à 4h le lendemain pour l’île de Disko : navigation lente en se frayant un passage dans le pack, puis eau libre. À l’arrivée nous retrouvons un scientifique spécialiste du requin arctique : John, qui sur son bateau, l’étudie. Nous passerons 3 jours à ses côtés, et verrons ainsi plusieurs spécimens impressionnants. Merci à Ghislain, Manu et toute leur équipe de m’avoir fait partager ces instants magiques.

– Pascal D., embarqué au Groenland sur UTP II

Lire le témoignage complet

J’ai découvert l’expédition tout à fait par hasard lors d’une navigation côtière en Bretagne Sud. La goélette WHY, aperçue aux Glénan et à Concarneau, m’avait intriguée et après quelques recherches j’ai découvert le projet UTP II. Cela correspondait bien à l’envie de plonger en mer froide que j’avais depuis quelque temps sans trouver véritablement de structure adaptée. J’étais donc prêt à sauter dans l’aventure et sans hésiter j’ai proposé ma candidature.

Lors de la visite du bateau en septembre la qualité de construction du WHY, le professionnalisme de Ghislain et Manue, maintes fois démontré lors d’expéditions antérieures, et l’équipe de choc donc ils avaient su s’entourer ont fini de me convaincre. Être invité à participer à une expédition scientifique au sein d’une équipe de plongeurs de l’extrême est une chance extraordinaire. Le rendez-vous est pris pour le printemps suivant.

La motivation de l’entrainement hivernal était entretenue par le suivie de la progression du WHY vers le Groenland dans des conditions météo très difficiles.

Départ en mai d’Ilulissat dans la baie de Disko, où le WHY est bien arrivé en remontant la côte au fur et à mesure de la fonte de la banquise. La météo se présente bien, très clémente.

Bienvenue à bord. Ambiance chaleureuse et conviviale on fait tout de suite parti de la famille. Départ à 4h le lendemain pour l’île de Disko : navigation lente en se frayant un passage dans le pack, puis eau libre. À l’arrivée nous retrouvons un scientifique spécialiste du requin arctique : John, qui sur son bateau, l’étudie. Nous passerons 3 jours à ses côtés, et verrons ainsi plusieurs spécimens impressionnants.

Le phytoplancton malheureusement commence à pulluler en ce début de printemps, rendant l’eau trouble et verdâtre en surface. J’abandonne l’idée de photos d’ambiance bleutées autour des icebergs, seule la macrophotographie est possible. Ici à Godharven la faune et la flore sont moins exubérantes que dans le Pacifique nord : le tombant est tapissé de lèche doigt rouges, orangés et jaunes. Quelques nudibranches et vers plats également, mais peu de poissons et de crustacés.

Le matériel est adapté, deux blocs séparés avec deux détendeurs pour pouvoir isoler un circuit en cas de givre. Ce sont surtout les mains qui souffrent du froid.

Nous naviguons vers la pointe sud-ouest de l’île de Disko pour plonger et y passer la nuit. Le bateau avance au ralenti, se faufile entre les icebergs et les growlers. La surveillance du sondeur est impérative, les cartes sont peu précises et les hauts-fonds n’y figurent pas toujours ! C’est l’occasion d’une première rencontre avec les baleines franches. Une véritable concentration que les « super-divers » Ghislain et Martin vont tenter de filmer. Mais bien que l’eau soit un plus claire à -70 mètres ils attendront les mammifères en vain. En surface, le décor est somptueux, parsemé de plaques de glace, d’icebergs et animé par des troupes de pétrels et d’eider qui profitent du plancton. Leur présence va de pair avec celle des baleines.

Pour les plongeurs sans recycleur, la descente se fait sur un fond de sable noir entre 25 et 16 mètres. Crustacés, crevettes, lèches doigts, couteaux et vers panachés rouges sont au menu de cette plongée bio !

Dans l’archipel des îles Kronpinsens, la visibilité en progrès permet d’envisager des photos d’ambiance. Dans le même temps Ghislain et Martin, font une plongée profonde à 80 mètres, testant et validant les diverses procédures. Ils sont équipés de capteurs de température externe et interne, ainsi que du rythme cardiaque et respiratoire. Les tracés sont ensuite analysés.

Le lendemain le temps est couvert, il neige, mais toujours pas de vent. Nous naviguerons pendant 17 miles au moteur à pour tenter de trouver de l’eau plus claire dans le sud près de l’île de Savic. Nous mouillons à Napissaq pour la nuit. Le village est désertique. La plupart des habitants sont au travail à l’usine de poissonnerie Royal, nous les croiserons sur le chemin du retour.

Retour vers le nord pour plonger à Claushavn près des icebergs. Sous la couche de phytoplancton de l’eau limpide me permet de faire quelques ambiances avec mon binôme. Et un énorme poisson loup menaçant en position d’attaque, Romain ne veut pas s’en approcher et reste prudemment à distance. Depuis que Ghislain s’est fait attaquer par l’un d’entre eux pour le filmer l’équipage du WHY se méfie !

Avant le retour à Ilulissat, Tonio et Ghislain nous cherchent un dernier site de plongée : iceberg. La température ayant nettement augmenté depuis une quinzaine de jours, le dégèle les fragilise, ils se morcellent et peuvent même basculer. Le choix de l’iceberg idéal se révèle donc difficile. Enfin il se présente, magnifique avec une série d’anfractuosités arrondies bleutées.

Ambiance étrange de ce mur de glace sculpté de petites facettes qui le fait ressembler à une balle de golf géante. Dommage pour les images le temps est couvert et il neige. Il faudra revenir…

Merci à Ghislain, Manue et toute leur équipe de m’avoir fait partager ces instants magiques.

Pascal